MSAE Names Officers and Three Additions to Board of Directors

The Missouri Society of Association Executives (MSAE) has announced its new officers and the election of three local business leaders to its 2019 Board of Directors. The Board of Directors oversees MSAE as it works to promote and support excellence and professionalism among association executives, as well as increase the effectiveness, image and impact of its member associations. 

Sarah Luebbert, director of medical specialty societies, Missouri State Medical Association will serve as President for 2019, with Kathy Pabst, MBA, CAE, executive director, Missouri Academy of Family Physicians, taking over as President-elect. The new Secretary/Treasurer is Anne Fehr, executive director of the Missouri Chiropractic Physicians Association. Assuming the role of Immediate Past President and Foundation representative is Keith Sappington, executive director, Missouri Assisted Living Association. 

The newly-elected members of the Board are Matt Amick, director of industry relations, Missouri Corn Growers Association; Kristi Franklin, executive meetings sales manager, Explore St. Louis; Micaela Haymaker, director of operations, Conservation Federation of Missouri; Jane Moore, CEO, Hospice & Palliative Care Association; Morgan Mundell, executive manager, Missouri Limestone Producers Association; and Jeffrey Pabst, education & outreach coordinator, Missouri Local Government Employees Retirement System. Pabst will serve on the Board of Directors as Vice President of Membership and Haymaker will serve as Vice President of Community and Public Relations, while Franklin will act as Associate Member Board Representative. Amick, Moore and Mundell will serve as Board Members. 


“We are pleased to have these talented, energetic and driven leaders join our Board of Directors,” said Executive Director Ray Saputelli, MBA, CAE. “Matt, Kristi, Micaela, Jane, Morgan and Jeff will provide us with invaluable knowledge and strong direction as we continue to grow and promote excellence and professionalism among Missouri’s association executives.” 

Amick is director of industry relations for Missouri Corn, a grassroots organization of farmer-members dedicated to increasing the profitability of corn production by developing and expanding corn markets, collecting and distributing information about the market, building coalitions with organizations and industries and participating in the governmental process. He acts as liaison to the organization’s industry partners, organizes coalition involvement and trade teams and runs the grower services program.

In her work with Conservation Federation of Missouri (CFM), a private organization that works to ensure conservation of Missouri’s wildlife and natural resources, Haymaker is responsible for day-to-day operations, handling the finances of the organization, and programs including Share the Harvest, National Archery in the School Program (NASP) and Operation Game Thief. She is also the Secretary/Treasurer of the CFM Charitable Trust. 

As executive meetings sales manager for Explore St. Louis, Franklin is responsible for producing sales leads for St. Louis with an emphasis on 125-and-under peak room nights. Explore St. Louis works to attract citywide conventions, one-hotel meetings, sporting events, group tours and individual leisure travelers to St. Louis. 

Moore has served as CEO of the Hospice & Palliative Care Association, a state-wide nonprofit organization whose mission is to support and strengthen coordinated care for terminally-ill Missourians and their families through the advancement of hospice and palliative care, since 2008. A passionate advocate for quality end-of-life care and the hospice philosophy, Moore is responsible for coordinating all aspects of the state health care association for hospice and palliative care providers. 

Mundell is Executive Manager at the Missouri Limestone Producers Association, the state’s largest trade association representing the mining industry. He brings nearly 20 years of both public and private sector experience involving association management, public policy analysis and working with both federal and statewide officials. 

Pabst joined the Missouri Local Government Employees Retirement System (LAGERS) team in March 2010 and serves as the education & outreach coordinator. In his current position, Pabst focuses on how the organization can further educate its members, employers and stakeholders on the value of the LAGERS system.   

Rounding out the rest of the MSAE board is:

  • Vice President of Education – Cheri Messerli, Director of Education, Missouri Bankers Association
  • Foundation Representatives – Doug Smith, President/CEO of the Missouri Automobile Dealers Association; and Jay R. Hahn, Director of Government Relations at the Missouri Optometric Association
  • Board Member – Derek Leffert, Field Manager, Missouri One Call System
  • Associate Member Board Representative – Kay Samuelson, Regional Sales Manager, The Lodge of Four Seasons
MSAE's annual Funfest golf outing was a huge success!